Royal Architectural Institute of Canada

Municipal Urban Design Awards

The National Urban Design Awards of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) recognize excellence in urban design and demonstrate its importance to the general public. The Urban Design Awards program was established in 2006 to recognize individuals, organizations, firms, and projects that have contributed to the quality of lifeand sustainability in Canadian cities.

The two-tiered program is a cooperative venture between the RAIC, CIP and CSLA, and Canadian municipalities.

In the first year of a two-year cycle, Canadian municipalities will administer a local, RAIC/CIP/CSLA endorsed, Urban Design Award Program.

In the second year, the RAIC/CIP/CSLA will conduct a National Urban Design Awards program.  Participants will include the previous year’s winners from Canadian municipalities and be an open competition so that worthy initiatives undertaken in other communities across Canada may also be recognized.

Municipal Level

The following cities have established local Urban Design Award programs. Winners from the local tier are invited to submit to the national tier.

For information on how to establish a local Urban Design Awards program, please refer to the Urban Design Awards Program Guidelines

  Municipality Submission Deadline
Brampton TBA
Calgary September 5, 2017
Edmonton August 15, 2017
Halifax January 31, 2018
Hamilton June 16, 2017
Kitchener TBA
London May 26, 2017

May 14, 2018


Mount Pearl July 31, 2017
Niagara Region October, 2017
Oakville TBA
Oshawa TBA
Ottawa August 10, 2017 
Richmond TBA
Surrey December 22, 2016
Toronto May 4, 2017
Vancouver December, 2017
Vaughan September 22, 2017
Waterloo TBA

National Level 

The 2018 National Urban Design Awards will issue a call for submissions in June 2018.