Start Search

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, Canadian Institute of Planners, and Canadian Society of Landscape Architects
are pleased to announce the recipients of the

2008 National Urban Design Awards

Urban design and architectural excellence play an important role in maintaining and enhancing the quality of life in Canadian cities.

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada in cooperation with Canadian municipalities, wishes to promote public and private awareness of that role. For this reason, an Urban Design Awards program has been established to recognize individuals, organizations, firms and projects that have contributed to the quality of life and sustainability in our Canadian cities.

The RAIC, CIP and CSLA gratefully acknowledge the endorsement and support of the National Capital Commission and Natural Resources Canada.



Conceptual/Theoretical Urban Design Plans


Le Campus Outremont (Montreal, QC)
Lead Firms: Groupe Cardinal Hardy in collaboration with Provencher Roy + Associés architectes. Full credits.

Urban Architecture


Canada's National Ballet School / Project Grand Jeté:
Stage 1 Jarvis Street Campus and Radio City
(Toronto, ON)
Lead Firms: Goldsmith Borgal & Company Limited;
Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architect, Goldsmith Borgal & Company Limited, Architects in Joint Venture; architectsAlliance; Urban Strategies. Full credits.

Civic Design Projects


Corktown Footbridge (Ottawa, ON)
Lead Firm: Du Toit Allsopp Hillier / Du Toit Architects Limited
Full credits.

Urban Fragments


Making the Edible Campus (Montreal, QC)
Lead Firms: Minimum Cost Housing Group, McGill University School of Architecture. Full credits.

Special Jury Awards: Sustainable Development


Lower Don Lands (Toronto, ON)
Lead Firm: Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates, Inc.
Full credits

Special Jury Awards: Small or Medium Community
Urban Design Award


University of Ontario Institute of Technology (Oshawa, ON)
Lead Firm: Diamond and Schmitt Architects. Full credits.

Student Awards: Individual thesis


iCITY: Public Space v2.0 (Calgary, AB)
Allison Wood, University of Calgary. Full credits.

Certificates of Merit

Approved or Adopted Urban Design Plans


River Landing Riverfront Master Plan (Saskatoon, SK)
Lead Firm: Crosby Hanna & Associates, Landscapes Architecture & Planning. Full credits.

Urban Architecture


Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts (Toronto, ON)
Lead Firm: Diamond and Schmitt Architects.
Full credits

Pierre Dansereau Science Complex, Université du Québec
à Montréal
(Montreal, QC)
Lead Firms: Saia Barbarese Topouzanov architectes,
in consortium with Tétreault Languedoc architectes
Full credits

Civic Design Projects


7 Avenue LRT Refurbishment (Calgary, AB)
Lead Firm: Sturgess Architecture.
Full credits.

Leigh Square (Port Coquitlam, BC)
Lead Firm: Boldwing Continuum Architects Inc.
Full credits.

Community Improvement Project


Calgary Starts Here: Olympic Plaza Cultural District Strategy (Calgary, AB)
Lead Firm: Cultural District Renaissance Society of Alberta (operating as the Olympic Plaza Cultural District)
Full credits.

Student Work/Projects: Studio-based Work


False Creek (Vancouver, BC)
Faculty of Architecture, University of Manitoba –
Professor: Alan Tate, CSLA | Students: Erin Ediger, Hope Gunn, Christine Haylock, Qi Liao, Suzy Melo, Leanne Muir,
Charles Sands, Elizabeth Thiel, and Linda Yee. Full credits.

Jury Members  >>